Crochet Nubby Brim Hat

My 3rd hat for 2014, was called “Nubby Brim Hat”, and is a cloche-style hat made with bulky yarn:

I have officially dubbed it “The Pink Behemoth.”

It looks soooo giant, but yet, when I put it on my head, it doesn’t seem that huge.  Maybe it’s because of the super bulky yarn.  This was a SUPER fast project, but I’m not entirely happy with it.  The super bulky yarn makes it so heavy, and I’m not so crazy about the color.  And why is it sooo pointy at the top?  It looks like a cross between an ice cream cone and a Dr. Seuss Hat!  I dare say…it might be a candidate for my ugliest FO ever  😦

Chalk it up to more stitching experience, and never come away with nothing.  That being said, my lessons learned on this one:

Lesson #1: “Super Bulky” and “Bulky” are not “almost the same.”

The pattern actually called for bulky yarn, but I thought this would be a good opportunity to use up some super bulky stuff I had in my stash for a long while.  Since I was still using the recommended hook size, I thought my stitches would be tighter, but would be OK.  *Ahem….not so much.  I did skip 2 or 3 repeats on the body of the hat and 2 repeats on the brim of the hat but to me, it still seems gigantic.

Lesson #2: I don’t think I like bulky/super bulky yarn.

From now on, I think I’ll try to avoid projects involving these two weights of yarn.  It’s just uncomfortable on my hands, and I just don’t enjoy working with these types of yarns.

Lesson #3: I don’t really care for this pattern.

Although it was super easy (maybe it wasn’t and I did something wrong?) and fast, I don’t think I’ll make this again.

*********************************************************************************************************

Update 1/13/2014; Pics of my Pink Behemoth:

nubby-brim-hat_1

nubby-brim-hat_1

nubby-brim-hat_2

 

Leave a Reply

