Crochet Lattice Hat

For my 6th hat, I decided on yet another crochet pattern, mainly because I have some wool yarn in a pretty green, and I really want to try crocheting something with wool.  I typically crochet with acrylic (don’t know why – it just works out that way), but I really wanted to try it with a nice wool yarn.  So far, I’m loving it!

The pattern is also a bit more challenging than other crochet projects I’ve done in the past because it involves “front post double crochet” stitches, which I have done before, but not too much.  It’s a nice change from the standard “sc”, “dc”, and “hdc” stitches.

Anyway, we’ll see how it goes!  Oh, here’s the link to the free pattern:

http://www.rheatheylia.com/index.php?page=patterns&id=3

**********************************************************************************************

Update 1/17/2014; Finished!  I LOVED working on this hat.  I had some issues with the pattern because some things weren’t clear to me.  Like on my first LTC row, I didn’t know which fpdc to grab, and so I was just always grabbing the NEXT one, which caused me to have 1/2 the number of stitches I was supposed to end up with.  That’s mainly due to my inexperience with the LTC stitch, I think.

Then after I figured that out, I had a hiccup on Row 22 where it says:

*fpdc down into last LTC, bpdc, fpdc, bpdc* repeat from * to * around (36 fpdc, 36 bpdc)

I couldn’t figure out how I was supposed to fpdc and bpdc only into the 18 LTC’s that I had, and end up with 72 stitches.  So, I thought I was supposed to fpdc, bpdc, fpdc, bpdc into EACH LTC stitch.  I tried that and it didn’t look right at all.

Finally, I figured that I was supposed to fpdc into the first LTC, then the next 3 stitches, bpdc, fpdc, and bpdc, are into the DC stitches.  Ahhh, k got it.  Again – probably due to my lack of experience.

But I love the result – it’s a very interesting looking hat, and I had so much fun making it.

lattice-hat_2

lattice-hat_2

lattice-hat_1

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

