Dragon Hat

Hat #7 is a knitted beanie with a dragon pattern in it.  Only my second attempt ever at color stranding….(gulp).  So far, I’ve done 2 rows of the dragon patten, and I’m a little worried that my contrast yarn isn’t “contrasty” enough.  Oh well….we’ll see how it turns out, I guess.

Unfortunately, I can’t share the pattern because it’s a paid pattern, but if interested, here’s the Ravelry pattern page:

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/dragon-hat-2

And I’m going to have to get myself one of those “head model” thingies because I am tired of taking pictures of myself to model the hats….I hate taking my own picture!

****************************************************************************

Update 1/23/2014; So far so good.  The dragon pattern is not as hard as I thought it would be.  As long as I focus, and go slowly, it’s fine.  I was working on the hat last night while watching “World War Z”.  Hmmmm, maybe not such a good idea…..

*************************************************************************************

Update 1/27/2014; Finished last night!  The hat came out kind of puffy in spots – probably due to wrapping my floats too tightly, although I’m not sure exactly.  And I was right about the contrast yarn – it didn’t contrast enough so the dragon pattern doesn’t stand out as much as I wanted it to.  Overall, though I’m happy with the project.  I need to keep practicing my stranded color work!  Pictures coming soon….

************************************************************************************

Update 1/28/2014; Pictures are here!  I somehow got my gorgeous husband to model the hat for me….I wish he would smile though:

dragon-hat_2

dragon-hat_2

Here’s a close-up of the hat.  You can see what I mean about the contrast yarn not contrasting enough:

dragon-hat_1

dragon-hat_1

And here’s one of DD wearing the hat (with her own little girly flair):

dragon-hat_3

dragon-hat_3

 

Leave a Reply

