Lever Knitting, a.k.a. Peruvian Knitting

I’ve recently started teaching myself to knit in a style called “Lever Knitting”.  My You Tube searches have found it also called “Peruvian Knitting”, and “Irish Cottage Knitting.”  I’m not sure what the actual name of this technique is called.  But essentially, the main difference between lever knitting and what I usually do, is the way I hold the needle in my right hand, like I’m holding a pencil, rather than with an over-hand grip.

It definitely takes some getting used to, but I’ve been practicing for a couple of weeks now, and I’m starting to get the hang of it.  It’s supposed to be more ergonomic and faster.  I’m not very fast at it right now, and it does seem to reduce hand cramping, although not at first.  At first, my hands were cramping up so bad from trying to hold the needle in this way.  But I kept trying, and now, I can see, maybe, the ergonomic benefits of it.

Anyone else have any experience with this type of knitting?  What are your thoughts?

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

