Gradient Color Attempt

My latest obsession has been gradient color.  I saw this project page on Ravelry and just fell in love with the color effect:

http://www.ravelry.com/projects/deehonaker/spearmint-tea

Thus, began my search for gradient yarn.  My search led me mostly to Etsy shops for hand-dyed and/or hand-painted yarns, which run about $30 per hank or skein.  Well, I had wanted to knit this dress for my daughter in a gradient color:

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/little-honeysuckle

which meant I would need about 1000 yards of yarn!  That was just a little too rich for my blood.  So, I kept searching and researching, and somehow, I came across something that specified how to create a gradient transition when changing yarn colors.  It went something like this:

1 to 2 rows of new color

3 to 4 rows of old color

3 to 4 rows of new color

1 to 2 rows of old color

Then continue with new color.  All right!  This sounded promising.  So, I purchased some cotton yarn from Knit Picks (cotton because we live in Hawaii and I just didn’t want the dress to be too hot).  I chose 3 colors I thought looked good together and decided to try this gradient transitioning between colors.

Well, I finally got to the first color change and here is what happened:

Image

Ummm….not what I wanted 😦  Don’t get me wrong…the colors are very pretty, and the yarn (Knit Picks Comfy Worsted) is oh so very yummy….but this is not gradient, haha.

So, I had come across a posting on Ravelry that mentioned that gradient color can be achieved by knitting with 2 strands held together, and changing out one of the strands for color change.  I will continue my quest to achieve gradient coloring in my next project.  I think I’ll look for a simple scarf pattern that requires sport weight or fingering weight yarn, and then try knitting it with 2 strands of lace held together.  I’ll let you know how that goes.

In the meantime, this dress needs to be finished!

**********************************************************************************************

8/15/2014 Update: Finished….but….

This was a total fail 😦  First, the colors…uggh, nice colors individually, but the way I put them together….ick.  And what’s with the TINY neckline? Obviously I did something terribly wrong.  Too bad, the yarn is lovely.

honeysuckle_1

honeysuckle_1

honeysuckle_2

Not to mention….the gradient color thingy didn’t work at all 😦

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: Knitted Pebbles in the Fountain Top | alohanoa

Leave a Reply

