Crocheted Slippers for Mom

I wanted to make my mom a pair of house slippers for Christmas, so I tried out this pattern:

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/sea-breeze-houndstooth-slippers

These are super cute, but I don’t know what all those Ravelers are talking about by saying this is a quick and easy project!  Not so, for me.  First, my gauge was so off.  I first tried making the size 6-7 because my Mom and I wear the same sized shoes – which is between a 6 and 6 1/2.  And impatient little me, of course, did not check the gauge before completing the slippers.  After I finished, I tried them on, and they were waaaay too small!

So, I gave that pair to my 6-year old DD, who fits them perfectly.

Next, I tried the size 7-8.  But after I made the sole, I measured it, and the sizing was still way off.

So then I tried making the size 8-9.  That still seemed a little small, but I went with it anyway.  I think they will fit, at least I hope so.

Here’s how they look on my ugly feet:

sea-breeze-slippers_1

I originally wanted to make blue slippers with gray accent, which is what I did on the first pair, but then after the first pair, I was afraid of running out of blue, so I reversed the colors.  Not as nice, but still super cute.

Great pattern, but I hate seaming, and there are a lot of parts to put together.  First you make 2 left soles, and 2 right soles,  Then you make the top and sides of the slipper, then you edge the top and sides.  Then you stitch the soles to the top and sides you just made.  I made these in a couple of days, but I don’t know, it felt like a lot of work.  Maybe because I’m a crochet wuss, haha!

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Week in Review 9/29/2014 – 10/5/2014 | alohanoa

Leave a Reply

